CDO-Camiguin-Bukidnon here we come!

Canopy walk at Macahambus Adventure Park in CDO.

Time flies so fast huh!? It’s already the start of the “ber” months. For Filipinos, its the start of the long Christmas season. Well, it also means that the semester break is only a month away (October). Finally, we will have the chance to ease the itch of our feet! Btw, we’re in trio for this trip! Yes, another soul with itchy feet joined us he he he..

Recently, we booked flights online at Cebu Pacific, going to the city of the “golden friendship”, Cagayan de Oro! Roundtrip is 3,998 Php/person (about 90 USD).  Our trip is scheduled from October 30-Novemember 2, so we really have to maximized those four days to the fullest!

Whenever we have a trip, I usually volunteer to plan it. I’m in-charge of reserving a room in a hotel/resort, contacting a person for the day tour/activities, researching how much are the fees (entrance fees, transpo fees etc.) and other interesting places that we must visit. Well, I really take this “trip planning” task seriously he he he. Btw, the best way to find tips is at  the website Virtual Tourist. Just google or yahoo search it, for example, for Camiguin tips, just type “virtual tourist camiguin”. Real travelers share their experiences, from accomodations, things to do, tourist traps etc. With help from the other travelers, I was able to come up with our itinerary. It is as follows:

Day 1– Arrival in CDO at 5:50AM

Before exploring CDO, we will first drop by the island of seven volcanoes, Camiguin! From the airport, we will go directly to Balingoan port to catch an early ferry going to this island. Eversince, it is my dream to see this island paradise. Being a sun worshipper, I will really enjoy its fine white sand beach! This island also offers a lot of places to see like the famous White Island, Ardent hot spring, Katibawasan Falls, Sunken cemetery and many more! Since the island is small, you can actually see all of it in just a day. I already made an arrangement for the day tour of the island as well as our cottage. We’ll just stay here for a night, then back to CDO the next day. I will just tell the details on Camiguin after our trip.

Day 2- Back in CDO

From Camiguin we will return to CDO first thing in the morning. CDO is the capital of Misamis Oriental province, located in northern Mindanao. Here will test our limits by ziplining and rapelling at the Macahambus Adventure Park. Then after, we will battle the raging rapids of the Cagayan de Oro river by white water rafting. Isn’t that exciting!?

Day 3- Side Trip to Bukidnon

Since Bukidnon is just 2 hours from CDO, we decided to squeeze it into our itinerary. We want to see its capital city, Malaybalay. The must see places here are: Kaamulan Park, Monastery of Transfiguration and the Del Monte pineapple plantation. We will also try to see the Lake Apo, located in Valencia, a town near Malaybalay. From what read in the net, Bukidnon is beatiful city, just like Baguio, with pinetrees and cold weather. But we have to decide yet if we will spend a night here or come back to CDO the same day. So I say, we’ll just cross the bridge when we get there 🙂

Day 4- Home Bound

Since our flight is schedule at 4PM, so we still have time to see other attractions of CDO as well as to buy “pasalubongs” for family and friends

When I told my mother about this trip, she was kinda worry. If you watched the news recently, the situation in Mindanao is volatile. The conflict between the army and rebels is still ongoing. But CDO, Camiguin and Bukidnon are located in Northern Mindano, which is far from where the conflict is: in Southern Mindanao. So I told my mama, there’s no need to worry 🙂

A few months ago, I bought a new camera, Canon S5-IS Powershot. I would like to take photos seriously he he he. This trip will be my camera’s chance to prove its worth (and cost?) ha ha ha! I also bought a new backpack from the North Face to replace my worn-out Fila. See, I’m not that excited at all huh?!

After our trip, you expect to see three blog entries from me he he he. I can’t wait to go! Wooohooo 🙂

*******

Photo: Flickr

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vera
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 06:50:00

    Found your site while looking for recommendations for a CDO trip. We’re planning one for next year! Cebu Pacific has another promo for January-March trips but I want to make sure we can afford CDO before buying the tickets 🙂

    I hope you have one helluva trip, I’d love to hear all about how it turns out!

    Reply

  2. p0nang
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 09:43:22

    VERA: Thanks for visiting my blog. We will surely enjoy this trip. I will blog all the details about this, and I hope I could give you useful information 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ivy
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 16:34:55

    Hi!

    Reply

  4. Ivy
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 16:41:21

    I’m from Bukidnon…I’m a 3rd year HS student of Bukidnon National High School…Our project in english is to make a travel brochure. I have chosen Camiguin Island because I was given birth there. As I searched the net, I saw your blog about your trip…So, I was interested…Will you please share to me your experiences there? We went to Camiguin last December 30, 2008 because my family decided to spend our New Year there…Hoping for your response…Just email me at fabulous_ivzz@yahoo.com if its okay for you…Tnx! God Bless You…☺

    Reply

  5. toni
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 17:13:24

    hi! how much ung travel expense nyo for this kind of trip? thanks!

    Reply

  6. p0nang
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 18:13:05

    Hi toni, actually I was only bringing 8,000 Php with me, that already covered everything (except airline ticket). We usually travel in budget, so we always look for the cheapest, without sacrificing our safety and comfort 🙂

    Reply

  7. toni
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 09:08:13

    ung 8,000 group na kayo nun kaya ba nakamura kayo? kase 2 lang kme mgtravel eh.baka mas mahal.

    Reply

  8. p0nang
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 11:08:34

    actually 3 lang kami dito. matipid kasi kami kapag nagtatravel, we don’t splurge on expensive things, we always look for cheap place to stay, and we don’t eat in expensive restaurant. we usually bring food with us like cupnoodles and bread, or eat kung saan mura. we always travel on budget 🙂

    Reply

  9. wella
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 14:24:36

    HI..I’M FROM bukidnon too and thank you for visiting our place..hope u guys enjoyed ur trip,…

    Reply

  10. p0nang
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 10:16:52

    Wella thanks for visiting my blog! Yep, we really enjoy our trip. Bukidnon is such a nice place 🙂

    Reply

  11. norleen yangyang
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 17:36:50

    hi do u have cdo-camiguin-bukidnon tour package for min.of 4 person? 3d/2n on march 15-17 2012? please send me a quotation! tnx here’s my email norleen_28@yahoo.com

    Reply

Leave a comment